Site logo

Prince Swanny Releases ‘Swanology’ Album, Shares ‘I Try’ Video

Spread the love

Trinidad & Tobago dancehall star Prince Swanny has shared his long-awaited album, Swanology, today (Listen HERE), along with the video for the project’s latest single, “I Try.” Watch HERE.

Swanology is Prince Swanny’s second full-length release, following 2021’s Serenity, and the first dancehall album under Equity Distribution (EQ), the new indie distribution company from Roc Nation. Swanny tapped an international cast of collaborators to feature on the project in Jamaican dancehall star Skillibeng; UK-based singer/rapper Not3s; France’s Kalash; and Byron Messia of St. Kitts. Production is handled largely by Trinidadian producers including Trini Baby, Chady Beats and Zayah Dan.

Known for popularizing Trinidad & Tobago’s TriniBad dancehall movement, Prince Swanny is one of the Caribbean’s most in-demand young artists. The 24-year-old known to fans as Swan Dann helped put TriniBad on the map with hits like “Go Fi Dem” and “Dreams,” heralding the arrival of Trinidad & Tobago’s fresh, youthful and sometimes controversial spin on Jamaica’s dancehall sound and culture.

Swanny’s growing profile has led to endorsements and co-signs from the likes of Drake, Burna Boy, Bobby Shmurda (who appears in the “I Try” video), Kodak Black, Sean Paul, Yo Gotti, Trinidad James and Popcaan, among others.

Launched in 2019 by Roc Nation, Equity Distribution is a global music distribution platform that helps artists distribute their music worldwide while empowering them to maintain ownership of their masters. Alicia Keys, Kelly Rowland, Tokischa and Fat Joe are among the acts currently working with EQ to release their music. Swanology is a joint venture between EQ and Swanny’s own ZTEKK imprint.

Swanology finds Prince Swanny staying true to his TriniBad sound — a melodic fusion of trap and dancehall distinct to Trinidad & Tobago — while mixing in influences from the US, UK and beyond. Much of the content is highly personal in nature, Prince Swanny notes, reflecting a recent period of turmoil in his life.

“I wanted to put my feelings into it so that when people listen they can see what I’m saying without even watching a video,” Prince Swanny says. “Every topic, they must feel me through the music.”

On “I Try,” the artist opens up about his goals and life aspirations, and his efforts to do the right thing amidst perpetual temptation and strife. “Step By Step,” featuring the U.K. rapper Not3s, is a smooth Afroswing bop produced by influential soca producers Stadic and Jonny Blaze.

The album follows — and includes —the recent Prince Swanny singles “Govern,” “Against The World,” “Shake” featuring Skillibeng, and “No Looking Back.”


Swanology Tracklist

1. No Looking Back (Prod. by Trini Baby)

2. Resume (Prod. by N3monia)

3. I Try (Prod. by Yo, Zayah Dan and Kevy)

4. Stay High (Prod. by Vibez)

5. Time Is Now (Prod. by Extol Music)

6. Rich Badness feat. Byron Messia (Prod. by Chady Beats)

7. Killyz (Prod. by Chady Beats)

8. Govern (Prod. by Chady Beats)

9. Shake feat. Skillibeng (Prod. by Chady Beats and Zayah Dan)

10. Bestie (Prod. by Kelly Beatz)

11. Love It feat. Kalash (Prod. by Shaz)

12. Match Energy (Prod. by Vibez)

13. Step By Step feat. Not3s (Prod. by Stadic and Johnny Blaze)

14. Against The World (Prod. by 47 On Da Beat)


Facebook  /  Instagram  /  Twitter  /  YouTube  /  Spotify

Rate this post
Spread the love



  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment